CircleChess Review 2026: Fees, Coaches & Parent Verdict
A dated CircleChess review for parents: current fees, GM Vishnu Prasanna's curriculum, class format, trial and refund terms, strengths, gaps, and verdict.

Day-to-day coach at ChessWize. 7+ years training students aged 5–15 across India, the USA, the UK, Singapore, Australia, and the Middle East. Known for structured, interactive sessions that turn nervous beginners into tournament-ready players.
On this page · 19 sections

For parents
Key takeaways
- 1CircleChess (Caissa School of Chess) is a legitimate Bengaluru online academy built on GM Vishnu Prasanna's curriculum, with two live classes a week at the intermediate tier.
- 2The India page currently lists Beginner ₹9,000/3 months (24 sessions), Intermediate ₹10,800/3 months (24 sessions), and Advanced ₹10,800/3 months (36 sessions), GST included.
- 3The FIDE-rating guarantee is tied to a defined pathway and multiple participation conditions; it is not a passive outcome promise.
- 4Before enrolling, confirm the assigned weekly coach, exact group size, session length, and which refund or guarantee terms apply to the chosen plan.
CircleChess is a Bengaluru-based online chess academy whose Caissa School of Chess combines live classes, mentor support, assignments, tournaments and a practice app. It is a legitimate, GM-led operation with clear strengths and a few buying details parents still need to confirm. This review separates provider-published facts from our assessment and discloses our bias below.
Disclosure: ChessWize, the site you are reading, runs one of the alternatives discussed here. We teach ages 5–15 online only — no physical centre — with group sessions from ₹375 per class, two-on-one from ₹550, and 1:1 from ₹1,000, plus a starter pack of ₹2,500 for eight classes (₹313 per session). We hold a 5.0 rating on Google from 21 reviews, cap batches at six, and offer a complimentary 30-minute level check. Read our judgement as competitor analysis, not an independent award. Provider facts below link to CircleChess’s own pages, and limitations are given equal space.
CircleChess at a glance#
| Parent question | What the provider currently publishes |
|---|---|
| What is the format? | Live group and 1:1 classes, assignments, tournaments, mentor support and the Caissa practice app |
| What does the three-month group plan cost? | Beginner ₹9,000/24 sessions; Intermediate ₹10,800/24; Advanced ₹10,800/36; 1:1 from ₹24,000; GST included (checked 3 September 2026) |
| How often are classes? | Beginner and Intermediate list two live classes a week |
| How long is a class? | The FAQ gives a range of 55 minutes to 2 hours depending on programme and format |
| How large is the group? | A fixed cap was not published on the India page we checked |
| Can a child try it first? | A paid 1:1 trial is offered; the standard enrolment route has a 7-day refund window |
| How do parents see progress? | Monthly parent-teacher meetings are included |
Pros and limitations in plain language#
| Reasons to shortlist | Limits to clarify before paying |
|---|---|
| Named GM curriculum leadership and public coach profiles | The curriculum lead is not necessarily the child’s weekly coach |
| Classes, assignments, tournaments, mentor support and app practice in one system | A fixed group-size cap is not published on the India page |
| Monthly parent-teacher meeting | Ask whether the PTM is with the class coach and uses the child’s own games |
| Published 7-day refund policy and written guarantee conditions | The FIDE-rating guarantee requires substantial attendance, practice and tournament participation |
What is CircleChess and who runs it?#
CircleChess is an online chess education company founded in Bengaluru in 2023 by Kumar Gaurav and Swati Agrawal. Its children’s programme is called the Caissa School of Chess. GM Vishnu Prasanna, the coach who trained world champion Gukesh Dommaraju from 2017 to 2022, designs the curriculum as Chief Chess Officer.
That coaching pedigree is the headline. Gukesh is presented as a brand ambassador, and the company publishes a large roster of certified coaches (per circlechess.com, checked 30 August 2026). Beyond classes, CircleChess operates a wider ecosystem: the Caissa practice app, internal student tournaments, and tournament software. These are provider-published facts; they do not establish the quality of the specific coach or batch a family receives.
One number to read carefully: CircleChess describes itself as serving “5,000+ families in 30+ countries.” That figure is the company’s own, self-reported claim — we found no independent verification of it, which does not make it false, only unaudited. When you compare academies, treat self-reported scale the same way everywhere: a signal of ambition, not proof of quality.
If you are building a shortlist from scratch, our chess coaching comparisons hub collects side-by-side reviews of the major Indian options, and the best online chess classes for kids in India roundup places CircleChess in context with dated pricing from each academy’s own site.
How much does CircleChess cost in 2026?#
CircleChess’s India page showed the following three-month group plans when checked on 30 August 2026. The session counts matter: the lowest total is not automatically the lowest per live class.
| Published level | Three-month total | Listed live sessions | Simple cost per listed session |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginner | ₹9,000 | 24 | ₹375 |
| Intermediate | ₹10,800 | 24 | ₹450 |
| Advanced | ₹10,800 | 36 | ₹300 |
CircleChess states that GST is included. The per-session figures are our division of the package total by the published live-session count; they do not value assignments, tournaments, mentor support or app access. Prices were checked on the Caissa School of Chess India page on 30 August 2026, re-checked on 3 September 2026, and can change. The same page lists 1:1 classes from ₹24,000 per three months and Foundation batches at ₹9,000 (levels 1–2) and ₹10,800 (levels 3–4) per three months.
What changed: the intermediate tiers this review carried in August 2026 (₹12,150 for 3 months, ₹23,625 for 6, ₹34,425 for 9 and ₹44,550 for 12, roughly ₹3,713–₹4,050 a month) are no longer on the India page; the three-month prices above replaced them.
The page also offers a paid 1:1 trial. Families who skip that route can enrol under a seven-day refund window, but a refund policy is not the same as a free demonstration. Ask whether the person running the trial will teach the regular batch and get the refund trigger on the invoice or enrolment message.
For context, ChessGaja publishes India group classes from ₹3,250 per month plus 18% GST, or ₹3,835 payable, for eight listed classes. Kingdom of Chess’s current course page does not show a live package price beside its class format. ChessWize publishes group from ₹375 per session, two-on-one from ₹550 and 1:1 from ₹1,000. These formats and inclusions differ, so use our chess class fees in India guide before treating one headline as cheaper.
What do you get each week at the Caissa School of Chess?#
A Caissa School of Chess plan combines live classes, assignments, internal tournaments, access to the Caissa practice app, and monthly parent-teacher meetings. The beginner and intermediate India plans list two live classes a week. CircleChess’s FAQ describes classes ranging from 55 minutes to two hours depending on the programme and format, so ask for the duration of the exact batch being sold. Both group and one-to-one options exist, but the public India page does not state a fixed group-size cap.
The monthly parent-teacher meeting gives parents a defined checkpoint instead of relying only on a dashboard. Ask whether it is held with the class coach or a mentor, whether it uses the child’s recent games, and what parents receive afterward.
The AI app is a supplement, not the product. Treat it the way you would treat puzzle apps generally: helpful for practice between classes, not a substitute for the live coaching you are paying for. Our ChessWize vs ChessKid comparison and the broader chess coaching vs chess apps guide explain why self-paced tools alone rarely move a competitive child forward — and why the smartest families combine both.
Where does CircleChess win?#
CircleChess’s clearest strengths are a named GM curriculum lead, a broad coaching roster, a tournament ecosystem, and published refund terms. Those are useful shortlist signals, but they do not tell you who will teach the weekly class or how many children will share it.
What stands out:
- Named curriculum leadership. GM Vishnu Prasanna is presented as the programme’s curriculum lead, and the page links the training approach to his work with Gukesh. That establishes who shapes the syllabus; it does not mean he teaches every batch.
- A large published coach roster. CircleChess lists many titled and certified coaches. The roster suggests wider slot coverage, but parents should still ask which named coach is assigned and whether that person remains with the batch.
- A real competitive ecosystem. Internal tournaments are built into every plan, and the company runs branded open events in India, so the path from class to competition is inside one organisation. If your child is heading toward a first rated tournament, that pipeline matters — though over-the-board AICF events still require separate preparation for clocks and notation.
- Published, dated refund terms. A seven-day refund window and a conditional rating-linked policy are available to read before enrolment. The conditions matter, so the next section translates them into a parent checklist.
What exactly is the “FIDE Rating Guarantee”?#
CircleChess publishes a one-year “FIDE Rating Guarantee” on an eligible pathway. Its refund policy makes the promise conditional: the student must meet minimum attendance and assignment thresholds, play and review games regularly, participate in offline tournaments, and enter rated events on the stated cadence. It is a training-and-participation contract, not a passive promise that paying the fee produces a rating.
FIDE (the International Chess Federation) issues ratings through sanctioned over-the-board play, not through online puzzle ratings or app scores. Before treating the promise as a safety net, read the current CircleChess refund policy and ask: Which programme is eligible? Who records attendance, games and reviews? Which tournaments qualify? Who pays entry and travel? What evidence is needed if the family later claims a refund?
For our part, ChessWize makes no rating promise. No academy controls opponents, event availability or how quickly a specific child converts preparation into results. A written refund policy can still reduce financial uncertainty, provided the family understands and can realistically meet every condition. Our FIDE rating and Elo guide for kids explains how a first published rating is earned.
How I evaluate a CircleChess demo: a coach’s walkthrough#
When parents ask whether CircleChess — or any large academy — is worth the fee, I tell them to treat the paid trial or first refundable class like a job interview for the person who will actually teach their child, not a tour of the brand. The useful signal is whether the coach understands your child. Here is the method I use when a parent shares notes from a trial.
Minutes 0–5: who is in the room? The first question is not “was the GM mentioned?” — of course he was. The question is whether the coach running the demo is the coach who would teach your child weekly, or a sales-facing instructor who hands off after enrolment. At CircleChess’s scale, rotation is a real possibility even when marketing emphasises certified coaches. Ask directly: “If we enrol today, is this the person on our calendar every Tuesday?” Write down the name. If the answer is vague, that vagueness will cost you later.
Minutes 5–15: diagnosis before teaching. A serious coach spends the opening segment finding out what the child already knows — not delivering a polished lesson about the Italian Game. I watch for three things: does the coach ask the child to explain a rule back (“where does the knight go from here?”), do they set one puzzle slightly above comfort level, and do they adjust when the child stalls? CircleChess’s curriculum is structured by design; what you are testing is whether the human in front of your child can depart from the script when the script does not fit.
Minutes 15–30: how wrong answers are handled. Every child gets something wrong in a proper trial. The coach who says “no, that’s incorrect” and moves on is teaching chess moves. The coach who says “good try — most kids play that because the bishop looks active; let’s see what happens after …” is teaching thinking. That second habit is what you are paying for at any academy, CircleChess included. I tell parents to note the exact sentence the coach used on the first mistake — it predicts three months of sessions better than any brochure.
Minutes 30–40: the parent segment. CircleChess includes monthly PTMs in every plan, which is more parent-facing structure than many rivals offer. In the demo, ask what those meetings cover: generic progress slides, or specific games your child played that week? A PTM that recycles marketing language is worthless; one that names a concrete weakness (“he calculates one move deep in knight forks but misses the second”) is worth the subscription.
After the call: the written follow-up test. CircleChess says a consultation follows within 24 hours of booking — use that message as a quality signal. Does it mention your child’s name, level, and one specific observation from the trial? Or is it a template? I advise parents to book CircleChess and one smaller academy — ChessWize, ChessGaja, or Kingdom of Chess — in the same week and compare follow-up emails side by side. The academy that diagnoses your child in writing is usually the academy that will track them in month three.
This walkthrough is the same framework in our how to pick a chess coach guide. Credentials get an academy onto the shortlist; demo behaviour keeps it there.
What should parents check before enrolling?#
The checkable gaps in CircleChess’s public information are specific: no published group-size cap, no stated recording policy on the pricing page, rupee pricing on its USA-targeted page, and self-reported satisfaction figures. None is disqualifying; each is a question you should get answered in writing at the demo.
Take this checklist into the paid trial, consultation, or first class:
- “What is the maximum number of children in my child’s batch?” The India page advertises group and 1:1 options but publishes no fixed group-size cap (checked 30 August 2026). Group size changes how much board time a child receives — CircleChess requires you to ask about the exact batch.
- “Are classes recorded, and do we get the recordings?” The public India page we checked does not state a recording policy either way. For a child who misses a class, this matters.
- “What currency will I be billed in?” Our audit found the USA-targeted landing page still quotes prices in rupees. NRI parents should confirm billing currency and payment method before enrolling.
- “Can I see the FIDE Rating Guarantee terms in writing?” See the section above — get eligibility conditions, qualifying events, and who bears tournament costs on paper.
- Treat their academy rankings as marketing. CircleChess publishes long “best online chess academies in India” articles that rank CircleChess first. That is normal marketing practice — ours carry the same bias, which is why this review discloses it — but it is not independent evidence.
Expert tips from seven years of coaching against large academies#
These are the shortcuts I give parents who call me after a CircleChess demo:
- Book two demos in the same week. Pedigree on a website and rapport in a Zoom room are different products. CircleChess’s GM story is real; your child’s weekly coach may be a strong club player you have never heard of. Compare two academies while memory is fresh.
- Ask for one recent game your demo coach reviewed. Academies with real teaching depth can show you anonymised student work — a commented game, a puzzle set assigned to a child at a similar level. A refusal is not fatal, but a concrete example is the fastest way to see whether “GM-designed curriculum” reaches the classroom.
- Separate the app from the class in your budget head. Caissa’s AI app is included, which sounds like value. If your child already uses ChessKid or free Lichess puzzles, you may be paying for duplicate practice. Decide whether the live coach or the app is the reason you are enrolling.
- Get tournament logistics on paper before the rating promise matters. CircleChess’s refund-backed rating claim only becomes relevant once you know which OTB events count, who registers the child with AICF, and who pays travel. A rating promise without a tournament plan is marketing; with a plan, it is a serious commitment.
- Watch your child’s face when the demo ends. Credentials get CircleChess onto the shortlist; your child’s willingness to open the board again tomorrow keeps any academy on it. A child who asks “when is the next class?” is telling you more than any comparison table.
Who is CircleChess a good fit for?#
CircleChess fits a family that wants a large, structured academy with a GM-designed curriculum, a built-in tournament pipeline, and an app for between-class practice — and that is comfortable doing its own diligence on batch size and guarantee terms at the demo stage.
Choose CircleChess if the GM-led curriculum and one-organisation path from lessons to tournament preparation appeal to you, and the current package fits your budget. Look elsewhere if you need a published small-group cap before paying, a stated recording policy, or a written promise that one coach remains throughout; those details were not published on the pages we checked.
Families comparing structured academies should also read our Kingdom of Chess alternatives guide — another large Indian programme with published group caps — and our ChessKid and live coaching piece if the child is still deciding between apps and classes.
What are the alternatives to CircleChess?#
The realistic alternatives to CircleChess are a self-paced platform like ChessKid for casual learners, another structured Indian academy — several are compared in our guide to the best online chess classes for kids in India — or a smaller coach-led academy like ChessWize, which publishes this site.
Disclosure: ChessWize is our academy. Treat this paragraph as our pitch, not neutral advice. ChessWize teaches ages 5–15 online only, with batches capped at six. Published pricing: group sessions from ₹375 per class, two-on-one from ₹550, 1:1 from ₹1,000, and a starter pack of ₹2,500 for eight classes. The commitments we publish are operational, not outcome-based: the same coach every session with no rotation, a weekly WhatsApp report for every student, a complimentary 30-minute level check before you commit, a 100% refund on unused sessions, and a 5.0 Google rating from 21 reviews. We make no rating promises.
The honest comparison: CircleChess is bigger, carries the stronger celebrity pedigree, and bundles an app and tournament ecosystem. ChessWize is smaller and bets everything on coach continuity and week-by-week parent visibility. ChessWize’s level check is free and CircleChess offers a paid trial or a seven-day refund window, so the cheapest diligence is to try both in the same week and watch which coach gets your child talking. See our coaches page for named FIDE profiles, the compare hub for side-by-side pages, and live online chess lessons for children for how live sessions work in practice.
Frequently Asked Questions#
Is CircleChess a legitimate chess academy?#
Yes. CircleChess is a real Bengaluru company founded in 2023, with GM Vishnu Prasanna — world champion Gukesh’s former coach — designing its Caissa School of Chess curriculum. Its scale claims (5,000+ families in 30+ countries) are self-reported, so treat those specific numbers as marketing.
How much does CircleChess cost per month?#
On 30 August 2026, the India page listed Beginner at ₹9,000 for 3 months and 24 sessions, Intermediate at ₹10,800 for 3 months and 24 sessions, and Advanced at ₹10,800 for 3 months and 36 sessions, with GST included. Confirm the current plan and inclusions before paying because academy prices can change.
Does CircleChess really guarantee a FIDE rating?#
CircleChess publishes a one-year FIDE Rating Guarantee for an eligible pathway. Its refund policy requires attendance, assignments, regular games and reviews, offline tournament participation and rated events. Read the current written conditions before relying on it.
What ages does CircleChess accept?#
The current programme describes classes for all age groups rather than publishing a single kids-only age band. Ask which batch and teaching format fits your child’s age and level. The public page does not state a fixed group-size cap.
Does CircleChess offer a free trial?#
The current India pathway presents a paid 1:1 trial as an option. Families can otherwise enrol under a seven-day refund window. Confirm the trial fee and exact refund trigger in writing before paying.
How is ChessWize different from CircleChess?#
ChessWize — the academy publishing this review — focuses on same-coach continuity, small groups and frequent parent notes. CircleChess offers a larger ecosystem with a GM-led curriculum, mentor layer, tournaments and a practice app. Compare the actual assigned coach, batch size, written refund terms and your child’s response to a trial.
Back to the hub: coaching and chess-learning options.
Return to the main pillar: Online chess coaching for kids in India.

Hrdyansh Pandey
Day-to-day coach at ChessWize. 7+ years training students aged 5–15 across India, the USA, the UK, Singapore, Australia, and the Middle East. Known for structured, interactive sessions that turn nervous beginners into tournament-ready players.
View FIDE ProfileReferences & Sources · 5
- [01] Caissa School of Chess India page lists Beginner ₹9,000/3 months for 24 sessions, Intermediate ₹10,800/3 months for 24 sessions, and Advanced ₹10,800/3 months for 36 sessions; GST included — circlechess.com/caissa-school-of-chess-ind/, verified 2026-08-30
- [02] CircleChess refund policy gives a 7-day refund window and ties its one-year FIDE Rating Guarantee to attendance, assignments, games, reviews, offline events and rated tournaments — circlechess.com/refund-policy/, verified 2026-08-30
- [03] GM Vishnu Prasanna heads the CircleChess curriculum; named GM and IM profiles appear on the programme page — circlechess.com/caissa-school-of-chess-ind/, verified 2026-08-30
- [04] CircleChess FAQ describes classes from 55 minutes to 2 hours depending on programme and format — circlechess.com/caissa-school-of-chess-new/faq/, verified 2026-08-30
- [05] FIDE issues player ratings through sanctioned over-the-board play — fide.com/handbook, accessed 2026-08-30